AutoTrader

I’m Jessika Boedeker a graduate student in the Grady School of Journalism at the University of Georgia. My concentration is health and medical journalism and I have an interest in the evolving role of social media in health communication.

I’m currently taking a Big Data seminar within the New Media Institute at UGA. Throughout this seminar my class and myself will be working to find new and creative ways to apply the consumer data that is available through Facebook’s Open Graph.  I will be focusing on AutoTrader to show you how this application of data can be integrated into your marketing plan allowing you to reach a new group of constituents.  Utilizing this data more efficiently will show your users that Auto Trader “really gets them”.

I can see from research that AutoTrader is already very active and engaging within the social media realm, through Facebook and Twitter.  AutoTrader allows people to buy and sell cars – so why not reach the people who love cars the most? Car enthusiasts. There is definitely an opportunity to use the data available to influence your car enthusiast users.  Looking through different car Facebook pages, I have found there is quite a variety of them. For instance, Mustang has at least 12 different pages with one of the pages having over 2 millions “likes”.  AutoTrader could connect with these car lovers by using “keywords” such as cars, car brands, and “likes” of car pages, to push these consumers to your site.  Also by using an individual’s location you can notify them when a car is available in their area, in this case a mustang.  Focusing on building a trusted community among car enthusiasts will not only bring more users to your site but more cars listed and sold.

Over the next 3 months I plan to devote a minimum of six hours a week to this Auto Trader project, ultimately improving the effectiveness of data collected through Facebook and increasing your reach to your most valuable constituents. If you are interested in working with me on this project I would like to request an introductory phone call, follow up correspondence on email of no more than 5 times over the next 2 months and attendance of our show-off day, May 5th, 2012.  On this day I will present you an entire packet displaying my work for Auto Trader. Please feel free to contact me with any additional questions. Thank you in advance for helping me make this project a reality.

 

Kind Regards,

Jessika

Leave a Reply

