My potential new company…and edited company letter

Hi guys,

Obviously I no longer have a company to work with, and am really sorry for making us look bad to NCR for not knowing that they had sold Blockbuster Express to Coinstar/Redbox. That’s kind of a big thing to miss. It’s also a real bummer, because there was a lot of opportunity with BBX, but I’ve come up with a short list of potential options for my new company that also have a lot of room for opportunity with facebook data sources. All three companies are headquartered/have huge facilities in Georgia, and I already have ideas brewing for all three. I have a personal connection to two of them– Kia and Road Atlanta– and thought RaceTrac gas stations could also be a contender.

Kia already has a vast social media presence and great advertising, but there is always room for improvement, and as I worked with Kia in connection with a motorsports racing team last year, I feel I could target the racing fans and car enthusiasts out there and convert them to Kia fans. Kia recently opened a $1 billion state of the art facility in West Point, Ga.

Road Atlanta has a ton of racing events going on all year, and has shown that they are interested in gaining more of a social presence and is willing to work with new ideas.

RaceTrac, besides being a gas station, offers a ton of other snack-y things that constantly go on sale, just like any other gas station. They could use facebook to gather when people are hungry for a quick snack (their Taquitos are delicious!) or when they are about to embark on a roadtrip and need to fill up. I know that I will hold out getting gas for a few extra miles if I know my favorite gas station is just down the road, and in keeping with hedging out the competition, I could help build a relationship between RaceTrac and their customers.

I see pros and cons for each of these companies, but if you guys could post on here or discuss with me in class on thursday to help narrow it down (or decide to scrap these ideas altogether), I would very much appreciate it! Thanks for any feedback!

 

And here’s my new letter:

Dear (New Client),

I’m Kelsi Nilsson and I have a proposition for you.

I am a graduate student at the University of Georgia, and an avid facebook user, as I’m sure most of your customers and potential customers are as well. With over 850 million users worldwide and each one of those adding new information about themselves and others daily, facebook is a vast source of knowledge for companies like you.

So here’s where the proposition comes in. For one of my courses this semester, we have created a data mining company called Really Gets Me, and I chose to research (insert new client here) to find ways to make your business not only more profitable, but to gain loyal followers by showing them that you understand them. That sounds like a very lofty goal, but through the use of facebook’s Open Graph, the place where we can connect you and facebook and gather information about users that is pertinent to you, we can really target each of your individual customers to give them (whatever it is that my new client offers). Over the course of the next three months, I will find new ways for (my new client) to utilize all of this personalized data so that your patrons can know how much you really get them and their individual interests. It is crucial for companies these days to stay ahead of the curve and give their customers exactly what they want, and facebook’s opengraph data gives you a way to build a real relationship with your constituents and truly give them what they want without having to tell you what that is.

I would love a few minutes of your time to talk about what you would like to see from this project and what your thoughts are on what I have just proposed, and in order for you to really understand and properly implement my Really Gets Me approach, I would ask that you be available on May 4th to attend our showcase at the University of Georgia in Athens. If you have any questions before then, please feel free to contact me via email or phone; I assure a prompt response. I look forward to speaking with you!

 

Thank you,

Kelsi Nilsson

Leave a Reply

