Have you gotten yours?

I know some people who don’t mind them, I would hope no one would like them, but I DESPISE them. SHOTS. No, not the ones that fulfill your libational weekend needs- the ones where the room is cold, white walls around, some medical health awareness poster framed sitting on a single nail, and the only thing between you and some leather materialed half medical bed looking contraption is a thin layer of tissue paper- Nurse enters, cold hands and OUCH- it’s over, finally.

Obviously you get my point, I hate shots. And for this reason I have never gone out of my way to get or even find out if I even should be getting flu shots year after year. Recent events have caused me to rethink my fear, and maybe it is too little to late, but I’ve decided to research the hype around the annual “Did you get your flu shot yet?” in order to prepare for the coming years:

So This is what I found (As explained by the CDC):

The shot itself:  The “flu shot” — an inactivated vaccine (containing killed virus) that is given with a needle, usually in the arm. The flu shot is approved for use in people older than 6 months, including healthy people and people with chronic medical conditions.

Types: There are 3= Regular (6 mo +), High dose (65+), and intradermal (18-64) OR NASAL SPRAY FLUE VACCINE- there is a hope for those deathly afraid of needles!

When can you get it: August-Sept/Oct or until the vaccine has been distributed

YOU SHOULD NOT GET IF:

  • severe allergy to chicken eggs.
  • People who have had a severe reaction to an influenza vaccination.
  • Children younger than 6 months of age (influenza vaccine is not approved for this age group), and
  • People who have a moderate-to-severe illness with a fever (they should wait until they recover to get vaccinated.)
  • People with a history of Guillain–Barré Syndrome (a severe paralytic illness, also called GBS) that occurred after receiving influenza vaccine and who are not at risk for severe illness from influenza should generally not receive vaccine. Tell your doctor if you ever had Guillain-Barré Syndrome. Your doctor will help you decide whether the vaccine is recommended for you.

This article put out by CNNhealth.com goes into detail a little more.

I’ve always heard different opinions about the Flu Shot- Get one, don’t get one, It’s a necessity, it will make you sick as a dog, so on and so on..
Maybe next year I will brave the cold, white room in order to be on the safe side, or maybe I’ll be back to my dangerous ways of playing my cards- if I get sick, I get sick, Oh well…time will tell..

Leave a Reply

