How Delta Saved My Friendships

My personal story with Delta Airlines goes waaay back, to even before I was born. My uncle was a Delta pilot and rewrote the technical manual for Lockheed L-1011s, and my mom was a flight attendant before I came into the picture, so Delta has always been a part of my family. But fast forward to 2012….

Myself, like a lot of us in this course, completed our undergraduate degrees somewhere other than the University of Georgia. We may be feeling the distance from our college friends now that we’re here, and frankly, it really sucks living far away from those people who were such a big part of our lives not too long ago.

I joined a sorority my sophomore year of college, and instantly felt a close bond with some of my sisters and knew that they would be lifelong friends. During my time in Milledgeville, we did everything together. We spent summer days at the pool, nights out at the bars or at home watching girly movies and drinking wine, countless hours {not really} studying in the library, and the time in between doing a million other things that didn’t really seem that important at the time, but mean so much to me looking back now. I know it seems all perfect and wonderful, but it really was.

All too soon, I was graduating and moving on to bigger things, as were most of my friends and sisters. Some stayed in Georgia, some moved out West or up North, and one of my close friends even moved to Australia! We got boyfriends, fiancees, and husbands, big girl jobs (or went to grad school), but still managed to keep in touch for the most part. But as a lot of you probably know, when you move away from your friends, it is sometimes hard to hold onto those relationships and maintain them like they had been before. Because I don’t get to see some of my friends very often, it is difficult to keep up-to-date on their daily happenings, and I don’t want this trend to continue.

So here’s where it gets back to Delta. Delta, as a means of travel, has the potential to rekindle friendships that may have suffered because of distance. Delta can reunite friends who haven’t seen each other in a few weeks, months, or even years. For some of my college friends, facebook is the only way I know what is going on in their lives, or even the only means of communication I still have with them, so facebook is crawling with personal communication and other useful data that tells the entire story of a friendship; from pictures to wall post and links to facebook messages and chats. With the accessibility that companies have to this facebook data nowadays, Delta could be crucial in helping to reconnect friends or family and offer them travel plans and exciting trips together. A Delta application could plan out the whole process using important friend information from facebook, and leave me and my friends to have the fun.

 

 



Leave a comment